Artist of the Month
  • local channel
  • local charts
  • show listings
  • studios
  • submit
  • submit

deli cover

This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts


scene blog


New Track: "The English Softhearts" - Literature

Indie-pop masters Literature just premiered a new track called "The English Softhearts" over at Clash Music. We are also very happy to learn that the band's full-length follow-up to Deli fave, Arab Spring, is finally on its way. Their new LP Chorus will be released on August 18 via well-respected indie label Slumberland Records. Niiiiice! (Photo by Abi Reimold)


Ticket Giveaway: Tobacco w/The Stargazer Lilies & Zackey Force Funk at Underground Arts This Thursday

This week we’re offering our readers a chance to get down with some electro-dance-funk. Our ticket giveaway for Thursday’s Underground Arts event is headline by the psyche-electro funk of Tobacco, and also includes The Stargazer Lilies, Zackey Force Funk and a Grimace Federation DJ set. To enter for a chance to win a pair of tix, just send an email to thedelimagazinephiladelphia@gmail.com with the subject line “Tobacco Kills!” Please also include your cell number in the body of the message (in case of an emergency).


Fight Amp Packing a Thunderous Punch at KFN July 15

The power trio of Fight Amp is set to charge the stage this evening at Kung Fu Necktie. The group recently announced that they will be heading into the studio next month to record their next EP, which will be released via Brutal Panda Records at some point early next year. Fight Amp systematically constructs walls of intense menacing sound developing an atmosphere that can stew gradually, enveloping the room or quickly hitting hard and fast like last night's storm. With either attacking style at their disposal and an unrelenting instrumental mentality, the results provide a thunderous, effective punch. Joining in on this heavy noise-rocking spectacle will be a pair of Brutal Panda groups, locals Ladder Devils and San Francisco’s Kowloon Walled City. The bill also features Baltimore’s Roomrunner whose brand of rock inhabits a slight up-tempo pop element. Kung Fu Necktie, 1250 N. Front St., 7pm, $8 - $10, 21+ - Michael Colavita


New Music Video: "Dreaming #26" - The Lawsuits

The Lawsuits just premiered a subtly beautiful new music video that perfectly matches their track, "Dreaming #26," from the band's full-length album Cool Cool Cool, over at The Key yesterday. It was filmed and edited by Caitlin McCann on location at HotBox Studios. The Lawsuits will be performing on Sunday, July 27 on the River Stage at XPoNential Music Fest in Camden. Enjoy!

The Lawsuits - Dreaming #26 (official music video) from Dog Days Films


Krust Toons: "My Football Helmet Wearing Techno Project" by Teddy Hazard

Krust Toons: "My Football Helmet Wearing Techno Project" by Teddy Hazard - please feel free to drop him a line at teddandthehazards@gmail.com if you dig or have any funny ideas. You can also check out more of his illustrations HERE.


Hop Along & Glocca Morra Opening for Owls at Union Transfer July 14

Owls return to Philly tonight for a special show at Union Transfer, and they’ll be supported by an assortment of eclectic local bands that are joining them on tour. Ever since releasing their debut full-length Get Disowned, Frances Quinlan and the rest of Hop Along have garnered much well-deserved praise, and have performed with noteworthy bands like Fucked Up, The Sidekicks, and The Thermals. The four-piece will surely be pulling out all the stops for their hometown friends and fans this evening. Glocca Morra is the kind of Philly-inspired DIY band that sends out EPs like Museum Mouth with hand-drawn paper bag art. And with their recent summer hiatus to prep for this tour while working on new material, tonight might be the perfect occasion for a preview of what the guys have instore for their next release. Union Transfer, 1026 Spring Garden St., 9pm, $15, All Ages (Photos by Ally Newbold) - Bill McThrill


New Video: "Little Johnny Jewel" (Television Cover) - Chris Forsyth & The Solar Motel Band

We were very excited to learn that Chris Forsyth & The Solar Motel Band will be releasing a new full-length album this October entitled Intensity Ghost, via No Quarter Records. The quartet is easily one of our favorite live acts lately, and you can catch them for free performing under the beautiful LED lights at Spruce Street Harbor Park on Thursday, July 24 opening for Purling Hiss. And if you're still hungry for more of their hypnotic, exploratory jams, they'll also be throwing down the night after (Friday, July 25) at The Boot & Saddle with Oneida and I IM EYE MY. Check out the video below of the group covering "Little Johnny Jewel" by Television, one of Forsyth's major musical influences, at Little Berlin!

Katie Frank & The Pheromones and Heyward Howkins Host Roadside Graves at Bourbon & Branch July 13

From starting out as a college graduate sharing her personal compositions during open mic nights, to becoming a solid roots-rock five-piece, Katie Frank & The Pheromones have taken great strides to get where they are. And the release of their debut full-length Counting Your Curses over the winter has helped them tour to SXSW, and get ready to make their Philadelphia Folk Festival debut next month. Before they play the fest, they’ll be making their Bourbon & Branch debut tonight, where they’ll be joined by fellow BITBY labelmate, Heyward Howkins. This will be Howkins’ last show for a bit as he’ll be stepping away from the stage to record new material. So it’s a good reason to attend and see if he reveals any new morsels like the unreleased song "Everybody’s Waiting" from their recent Folkadelphia session. They'll be hosting Metuchen, New Jersey Americana outfit Roadside Graves. Bourbon & Branch, 705 N 2nd St., 8pm, $10, 21+ - Bill McThrill


- news for musician and music industry peeps -